03/02/11 Basic Rider Course Day 1


I left the house at 3:30 to give myself a lot of time and not feel rushed. After dealing with an argumentative Garmin Squirrely, pouring rain, slowed traffic, and a longer than necessary route, I finally arrived at 5:10. I’d only been to two Harley shops prior to this. I’m sure there are others similar in size if not larger, but to me this place was on a Walmart Supercenter level.

Ten people in the class, three women including myself. We did an ice breaker introduction-type exercise with a partner, our tables were set up as teams followed by a ‘think outside the box’ exercise. After some routine paperwork we toured all the departments of the store, including the service area with its motorcycle elevator to access second story winter bike storage. We saw two videos. The first was basically ‘The Joy of Motorcycling’ and the other was ‘Why I’m Glad I Took The Course’; both more appropriate from someone considering the class rather than for people already signed up and there.

I don’t feel like I walked away knowing anything new. I realize it was the first night, but with only four sessions that was 25% of the course. My previously mentioned anxiety? We were told a grade of 80% is required to pass the knowledge test. With very little preparation I’ve consistently scored 90% or higher on the course review. So I think after classroom instruction I should do quite well on that. Remaining nervousness is more focused on actually learning to ride and passing the skills test.

In trying to remember everything I needed to take I forgot the camera so unfortunately the only pictures I was able to get were from my phone.

4 thoughts on “03/02/11 Basic Rider Course Day 1

  1. Wow! Sounds like a lot of promo fluff! Our Basic Rider Course is taught at a local community college, and is much more “Driver’s Ed” then the one you are going to. Hopefully it will get better.

    Good luck!

    ~Jessie

  2. I hope you didn’t have to pay through the nose for this!

    “Um, sir (or ma’am) — when do we get to the MEAT?!”

    Hang in there. I am CERTAIN you’ll pass w/ flying colors!

  3. I thought the classroom part of the course could have been much better when I took it. The instructor didn’t teach anything other than what was in the book. It would be such a time saver if you could study on your own and just take the written test!

Leave a Reply

