03/23/11 Argh Stress


I was in the middle of a long post when WordPress started having issues and it was lost. I had a yucky day and am in a not-so-great mood in general. So here’s the update on the appointment I mentioned yesterday:

About a week and half ago I was scratching my back and felt something different. Checked it out in the mirror, had D look…it was new and I called for an appointment the following morning. Like I wrote yesterday, I am a nurse, not a patient. I take care of D, the kids, the dogs…make the appointments, drive, fill out forms, pick up prescriptions, buy treats. My dad was the same way, it was almost fun being sick when I was growing up. But again, I’m a terrible patient. So I stayed up too late, didn’t sleep well, woke up too early. Fast forward: the two spots on my back-one old, the other new-are harmless and could be removed if I wanted. No thank you. The doctor decided that since I was already there he should do a skin check and found a spot on my chest, top of the rib cage, that he wasn’t happy with. It is now gone and I’m at that point where I’m waiting not to get a phone call.

This is kind of a big deal to me for two reasons. First is the fact that there’s a lot of cancer history in my family. The other is because of something stupid I did years ago. Not long after graduating high school I went on a cruise, stayed up late one night, and fell asleep on deck the following morning. I was in terrible pain when I woke up and later found out that the front side of my body had second degree burns. I ended up with small moles scattered across my arms, chest, and stomach. I was also told to always keep an eye on them for any changes and the chance of melanoma.

Stressful? Um, maybe a bit. I was fine until after the local wore off and the pain kicked in. Around that time I noticed blood had soaked the bandage and was actually leaking thru. Replaced that a number of times and then finally called the office to find out if it was normal. Was told if it didn’t stop within a few hours to call back. At this point the bleeding has stopped, still have the pain though.

So again, not a very good day and something I have to shuffle to the back of my mind for the next week…

6 thoughts on “03/23/11 Argh Stress

  1. I can totally relate to this. 2 years ago I found a few spots. 2 moles on my back, 1 moderate atypical nevis, the other was fine. Then a lesion on my forehead, cancerous, basal cell. I thought I was dying, so again I totally can relate to the fear and impatiently waiting to find out. I have checks every 6 months now. I have since, had another basal cell on the top of my breast and have for the last 4 months being using carac cream (chemo) on my face to get rid of any other precancerous cells.

    Hang tough girl. You are not alone in this. I know its hard to stay positive, been there, so just vent all you need to and keep us posted. I always say now, PALE, is the new Tan. Don’t get anywhere without sunscreen on, even in the winter.

    Good luck, keep the faith, and let us know how the biopsy went.

  2. Who didn’t do something like fall asleep in the sun? Not a crime, just stuff that happens in life. We hope for good news, and remember, people people you’ve never met care about what happens to you! (I’m sure those that know you personally do too!!! 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

