03/29/11 Catching Up Again


We took A to Ziki Japanese Steak House for his birthday. This is currently my favorite sit-down sushi restaurant. He had been to a sushi buffet previously but never actually sat at the bar and watched the chefs, which I think is a great experience. We each had soup and a hand roll, and shared five eight-piece rolls. On the way home we stopped at the grocery store so he could choose a dessert to have at home with the other kids.

Yesterday was the procedure. The only pain I felt was from the needles to numb the area, but the odd pressure feeling from the actual cutting and stitching wasn’t exactly pleasant either. There are two sets of stitches, one dissolves, the other will be removed in 10 days. Unless something shows up in the lab results I go back in six months for a follow up. So I now have a bandage covered by a 4 x 6 piece of tape that has a strong disinfectant smell. Showers will need to be done carefully or with assistance. There is pain but it isn’t constant; because of the location it’s worse when sitting. And as I discovered last night I won’t be sleeping on my right sides for a few days.

That was basically two days off the computer so now I’m behind again: Facebook requests, an email folder of blog subscription update notifications, another of blog comments. I’m going to make time this morning to start getting caught up on those, try for even a short nap early this afternoon, and continue reading the latest Jodi Picoult book that had been sitting on my desk untouched for over a week. The chores can wait another day or two 😉

12 thoughts on “03/29/11 Catching Up Again

  1. Praying your the biopsy comes back negative. The 2 moles I had removed were under my left shoulder blade under my bra strap. Yeah, totally uncomfortable and painful at times. Hopefully you have a good “nurse” at home to help you. My husband was a great help to me. I have no clue how I would have bandaged it. Anyway, again, my prayers are with you. Try and stay positive and keep us posted!

    • Fortunately I don’t have to do anything with the bandage, unless it starts to fall off. The kids have been a big help already, and Dan too. I’m one of those people who has to shower every day so right now that’s my big concern 😉 Thanks for writing!

  2. My wife got me to try sushi for the first time in my life when we first got together almost 4 years ago…was always scared of it, but now I love it! We have a bunch of good places for it here in Memphis!

    • I don’t even remember how we got into it but we’re both fans and have a number of places locally that we enjoy, as well as a few that require a bit of a road trip 😉

  3. Praying for a speedy recovery. Glad to hear things got taken care of so swiftly – hang in there!

    Sushi looks amazing – what a treat! Happy birthday again. 18 – WOW. And I’m thinking 11 is a milestone! You look far too young to have teenagers, let alone an 18 yr old. Well done! 🙂

  4. Chores? What chores? Anyone post-surgical is off chore duty indefinitely, in my books.

    It should all be okay, the biopsy should be negative for everything, and you should be enjoying sushi with your family for decades to come!

Leave a Reply

