05/06/11 Another Good-bye


Old Rusty had been sitting in the shed unused since before its plates expired on March 31. The purchase of New Zoom didn’t help the situation either. On Wednesday we listed it on Craigslist, got a few responses…last night it went for a test ride and then off to a new home.

I’ll admit that it was bittersweet. I won’t miss the sore bum and back but the 6,000 miles alone that I rode last year hold so many nice memories. Prior to Rusty I had been on a motorcycle only once, and that was probably 20 years ago. This was the first bike my girls had ridden, and as a result two of them became hooked. With Rusty we discovered some great roads, found favorite restaurants, and met fantastic friends. There were laughs about the ‘ghetto’ GPS (printed directions and electrical tape), the noise that angered neighbors and set off car alarms. New Zoom is awesome and I’m sure it will create many new more good memories but it was still sad to see an old friend go. The bright side is that at least Rusty will be making some noise and gaining more miles with a new friend.

This post is for D…believe it or not, I do understand ♥

Then:

And now:

7 thoughts on “05/06/11 Another Good-bye

  1. I’m hugely sentimental too, and it would hard for me to sell a bike like that, with so many memories! But the truth is, you hold the memories, not the bike, and life is about moving forward– especially on the road. 🙂

  2. Despite the noise and its ‘ghetto gps,’ Rusty will continue making people happy.
    Love when a story has a nice ending.

  3. I had the same experience with g-gps on my dual sport. The big touring guys I ran into on my trip laughed, but gave credit where it’s due – reading directions while driving is no easy task.

    At least you can sell your machines. I now have three motorcycles and have an attachment to each one. If I can’t figure out which one to sell, I’ll never be able to buy another. At least my wife is sane about things.

    Brady
    Behind Bars – Motorcycles and Life
    http://www.behindbarsmotorcycle.com/

Leave a Reply

