05/10/11 Positive Mistake


Have you ever listened to a song and assumed you understood the meaning of the lyrics only to later discover that you were wrong? This happened to me recently, and it ended up being quite an interesting mistake.

I had a multi-cd shuffle of U2 songs playing during rides the past few weekends and got hooked on a few songs that I somehow previously missed. One in particular is ‘Miracle Drug’. Riding and listening to it a number of times I guess I went with the obvious and believed it was about love, relationships, communication, emotions:

I want to trip inside your head

Spend the day there
To hear the things you haven’t said
And see what you might see

I want to hear you when you call
Do you feel anything at all?
I want to see your thoughts take shape
And walk right out 

Freedom has a scent 
Like the top of a new born baby’s head

The songs are in your eyes
I see them when you smile
I’ve had enough I’m not giving up 
On a miracle drug

Of science and the human heart
There is no limit
There is no failure here sweetheart 
Just when you quit

I am you and you are mine
Love makes nonsense of space 
And time, will disappear 
Love and logic keep us clear
Reason is on our side, love

The songs are in your eyes
I see them when you smile
I’ve had enough of romantic love
I’d give it up, yeah, I’d give it up
For a miracle, a miracle drug, a miracle drug

God I need your help tonight

The other evening though I was searching for the video on You Tube and after listening to Bono’s introduction in the following version I discovered I was very wrong. It’s actually about Irish poet and author Christopher Nolan, who was born with cerebral palsy and could only move his head and eyes. At age 10 he was placed on a medication that allowed him to type with a pointer attached to his head. He eventually had a number of books published, including an award-winning autobiography. Rather amazing and inspirational.



5 thoughts on “05/10/11 Positive Mistake

  1. This is a beautiful song and a lovely story. Love Bono and U2.

    When I was about 9 or 10, I got into a huge argument with my cousin over the words in a song we both liked. Much later, I realized I was very wrong. I had a good chuckle when I read this as it reminded me of that time. I was so sure I was right!

  2. There’s this song from Hootie and the blowfish where the lyrics say “sometimes dumb things make me cry”. For the longest time I thought it said “sometimes dolphins make me cry”. Who doesn’t love to confuse song lyrics…

Leave a Reply

