06/02/11 NC Road Trip: Day 1


Germantown MD to Wytheville VA
292 miles

The plan was for everyone to meet in Frederick at 2pm and leave from there. I had my closest call yet on the bike when a woman in the middle lane decided she wanted to be in the left lane where we were. She was completely oblivious and it was pretty scary; my thinking was that we had our bad moment of the trip taken care of at that point.

There was a bit of a delay with one of the bikes and we ended up leaving the Frederick Harley-Davidson around 3pm. The bulk of this portion of the trip was on 81 heading south into Virginia. There seemed to be more truck traffic than usual, maybe because of the upcoming holiday weekend. At that point the weather was still nice even though there was a severe thunderstorm warning.

Traffic slowed to a crawl and even with the truckers talking on the CB we never found out why. And then the rain started. I’ve ridden in rain before so I thought it wouldn’t be a big deal: waterproof boots, ipod and camera tucked away safely inside my waterproof jacket. After seeing a tree just off the side of the road get hit by lightning and start on fire things got bad. We heard on the CB that a white truck spun out and hit the guardrail; we later found out that was fortunate for us because otherwise our tail rider would have been hit.

Before the rain I had been told we were an hour and 40 minutes from the hotel. I have no idea how long it actually was. Growing up I was terribly afraid of storms; as an adult I have no problem with them as long as I’m inside but riding on a motorcycle during a major thunderstorm isn’t my idea of fun. It was dark, pouring rain, almost continual lightning, trucks rushing by sending up waves of water…still being able to listen to music was distracting and helped, but by the time we got to the hotel I was quite ready for a strong drink and a shower!

14 thoughts on “06/02/11 NC Road Trip: Day 1

  1. You are BRAVE. I find driving in the car terrifying during thunderstorms and have a tendency to pull over until things clear significantly (when I can). Kudos to your for your courage!

  2. Pingback: 06/07/11 NC Road Trip: Day 2 | Back Seat View

  3. Wow. I’ve ridden in awful rain, wind, cold, and fog, but never a thunderstorm. I’m glad you made it safely. Hooray for good waterproof gear! Hooray for hotels, hot showers, and strong drinks!

    ~Jessie

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Through | Back Seat View

Leave a Reply

