06/04/11 What Makes You Feel Like You’re Still A Kid?


Again I’m a bit late, but a recent suggestion at The Daily Post was What makes you feel like you’re still a kid? 

A few months ago I wrote about my ex and our ‘relationship’. I lived with him for almost 11 years and other than my children being born that period of time I just tolerated, got by, existed. After I met D and moved to Canada my kids lived with him for five years or so. When A, almost 18, was asked why he was making a snow fort this past January he replied to make up for my lost childhood while living with him. 

I can understand and relate to those feelings, but as an adult I’m expected to deal with it and move on. And I have: my husband is great, I love living in MD, my kids have been here for over four years, and I ride the motorcycle. There are moments-on every ride-when I feel like a big kid. Times of good weather, nice scenery, favorite music on the ipod, riding with my best friend…I end up with a big smile on my face and often laugh. I’ll stretch my legs off the floor boards, stretch my arms out to the side, lean back and feel the sun and wind on my face, no worries or thoughts on mind except enjoying and treasuring the moment.

If you’ve read my About page you know that after D bought the first motorcycle I had no interest in riding it. To this day I still don’t know why I changed my mind but instead of regrets I’m thankful. I’m in an odd place that a lot of people don’t understand: there are those who have no desire to ride, and those who ride but who think being a passenger is crazy. It fits for me and I truly enjoy it…it’s fun to feel like a kid once in a while. Life is good.

11 thoughts on “06/04/11 What Makes You Feel Like You’re Still A Kid?

  1. Motorcycling builds into the psyche until the desire becomes large enough it can not be ignored. The feelings of wellness in our mental state grows and becomes “addictive”. Once we know what gives us these feelings of wellness/happiness, we find ourselves on our bikes more and more to satisfy the desire to live life well.

  2. I love the “I’ll stretch my legs off the floor boards, stretch my arms out to the side, lean back and feel the sun and wind on my face, no worries or thoughts on mind except enjoying and treasuring the moment.” I do that too. Feels like complete and total freedom and happiness.

  3. When I was in high school, one of my uncles had a bike. He’d take us riding every free chance he got. It was exhilarating to feel the wind on my face — I don’t remember wearing a helmet. Pretty cool stuff.

    • I’ve ridden without a helmet a few times in PA where there isn’t a helmet law. It’s something I’d only do occasionally and on certain roads…great feeling though!

      • It sure is!
        My cousin was talking last night about his 16 year old daughter and his wife wanting to learn to ride his Suzuki – he thinks they’re not ready yet. I had to smile to myself.
        Marcia

Leave a Reply

