08/27/11 Calm Before The Storm


So we continue getting ready for the hurricane and wait. Two of the kids offered to go to the grocery store with me. We got there around 10:30am and already a rather full parking lot and not a single cart available in the store. It was very crowded, a number of people were joking about the situation but an equal number were quite rude. We did self-scan and bagged as we shopped so our wait to check out was minimal.

We have lots of non-perishable foods, bottled water, ice, candles, flash lights with charged batteries. We moved the flower pots, recycle bins, and trash can; went on a quest to find the coolers in the basement. Later in the afternoon I put gas in the van and I’m doing one last load of laundry.

Not much else to do at this point. The rain is supposed to start late in the morning and continue until around noon on Sunday.

There was a beautiful sunset sky this evening. E and I took a walk to the field behind our house and then up the hill to the higher grounds near the elementary school. I got a number of photos to add to my sky collection.

13 thoughts on “08/27/11 Calm Before The Storm

  1. Every time I hear the phrase from the stars spangled banner, these skies are how I picture the night the song. (Rockets red glare, the bombs bursting in air…purple mountains majesty…)

  2. Beautiful picture! We’ve had some pretty sunsets here too recently, even though we’re on the other side of the country. Must have something to do with the earth’s current position relative to the sun.

  3. Still calm here near D.C. With no wind and no rain. You ‘stole’ the title of the post I was just planning to write! But yours is better anyway, and with a nice photo.

    I’m sitting in a McLean restaurant having brunch with locals. An easy start to the day…let’s hope we only get side-swiped…good luck!!

    • Thanks! Not long after I went to bed the wind got pretty scary so that woke me up and I ended being awake way too wake. The power was off & on for a few hours but fortunately not long enough that we lost food. I’m just glad we’re done with it 🙂

    • It really was gorgeous! Times like that it’s too bad I live in an area with lots & lots of trees.

      We had a lot of rain, very strong winds but no damage. The power was off & on for hours which was more annoying than anything.

  4. Pingback: 08/30/11 The Storm, The Beach, and My Dad | Back Seat View

Leave a Reply

