Three Mile Island


We often see a lot of interesting things on rides. Saturday we were headed north in Pennsylvania when this came into view:

Shrugs from both of us and then a minute later we saw signs and realized this was Three Mile Island. That was quite a flashback…I’m not going to get into age but I do vaguely remember the accident, kind of an oh wow moment. It’s funny how at the time when things like this happen it’s all the news coverage but then they eventually fade from the media spotlight. After we got to our hotel I ended up doing some research because I actually didn’t realize any of the facility was still functional.

This shot was taken from the road; I was surprised at how close it was and what didn’t appear to be an abundance of security. I remember years ago my grandma lived in the area of the Fermi facility in MI. Sometimes while visiting my dad would see how close he could drive to the plant before guards literally came out of the trees asking if we had business there. Fun memories.

Leave a Reply

